Iowa Democratic Party to Honor Fred & Charlotte Hubbell at 2019 Hall of Fame
Celebration to Feature at least 9 Presidential candidates, other honorees

DES MOINES – Today, the Iowa Democratic Party announced it will be inducting eleven Iowans into its Hall of Fame, including long-time Democratic Party supporters Fred & Charlotte Hubbell. The event will take place on Sunday, June 9, at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cedar Rapids Convention Complex in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

“We’re honored to recognize these outstanding Iowans who have done so much to help grow and support our Party; this will be a tremendous celebration of the spirit of the Iowa Democratic Party,” said Iowa Democratic Party Chair Troy Price. “We’re also honored to have joining us several candidates who are looking to take back the White House and restore dignity and morality to the highest office in the land.”

Featured speakers will include presidential candidates including Cory Booker, Pete Buttigieg, John Delaney, Kirsten Gillibrand, Kamala Harris, John Hickenlooper, Amy Klobuchar, Elizabeth Warren, and Andrew Yang. Each of these candidates have met a threshold to participate; more candidates could be announced at a later date.

WHAT: Iowa Democratic Party featuring 2020 presidential candidates and Hall of Fame Award Recipients

WHEN: Sunday, June 9, 2019 at 2:00 PM CDT; press load in start 12:00 PM CDT

WHERE: DoubleTree by Hilton Cedar Rapids, 350 1st Ave NE Cedar Rapids, IA 52401

The following Iowans will be honored with awards at the Hall of Fame Celebration:

  • Fred and Charlotte Hubbell, Outstanding Supporters
  • College and Young Democrats of Iowa, Outstanding SCC Member
  • Sioux County Democrats, Outstanding Democratic Party Chair
  • Cindy & Elwood Garlock, Outstanding Activists
  • Representative Ras Smith, Rising Star

For more information on the awardees, click here.