State Central Committee Elects Leadership Team for 2019-2020 Cycle
Today, the Iowa Democratic Party State Central Committee elected the leadership team for the 2019 – 2020 election cycle, including Troy Price as Chair, Andrea Phillips as 1st Vice Chair, June Owens as 2nd Vice Chair, Ken Sager as Treasurer, and Don Ruby as Secretary.

Chair Troy Price of Des Moines was unanimously elected to a second term at the helm of the Party. He released the following statement on his re-election:

“I want to thank the SCC and the incredible Iowa Democrats they represent for trusting me with another term as their State Party Chair. We accomplished a great deal in 2018: we flipped two congressional seats and sent the first two Iowa women to the House of Representatives. We flipped the Auditor’s office, tapping Rob Sand to wake up Iowa’s watchdog. We chipped away at the Republican advantage in the Iowa House and expanded our bench with young and diverse candidates who will lead our Party to victory in the future. I am incredibly proud of the work that Iowa Democrats did this cycle, and I cannot wait to work with them again on what could very well be one of the most consequential Iowa Caucuses of our time. 

On that note, as I start my second term, I am renewing our Party’s commitment to engaging and empowering Iowans in every corner of the state. Our Party is driven by and for the people, not zip codes. We will work tirelessly to make sure that every Iowan has a voice in our Party and our elections.”

Rounding out the leadership team for the Iowa Democratic Party, Andrea Phillips of Ankeny was also unanimously re-elected First Vice Chair. In her role, Ms. Phillips has spearheaded community outreach programs and explored new training and technological opportunities for our campaigns and activists.

“In 2018, we saw a record number of Democrats run for election. We must continue these efforts and have a strong recruitment program for 2020, and ensure that our candidates, county parties, and activists have the technology and tools to be successful.” 

Community activist and advocate June Owens of Des Moines will be returning as Second Vice Chair with a unanimous endorsement from the State Central Committee, continuing her efforts to engage all communities in the Democratic process.

“The Iowa Democratic Party is the only party fighting to ensure every Iowan has a voice in their government. I look forward to engaging, supporting, and building the political power of diverse communities across the state so that every Iowan has the representation they deserve who will fight for them every day, whether that’s in the court house, the state house, or the White House.”

Additionally, Ken Sager of Des Moines was re-elected Treasurer of the Party and Don Rubyof St. Mary’s, was re-elected Secretary.

Would you like to get in contact with our 2019 – 2020 leadership team? Please reach out to Tess Seger at