• Protecting Our Principles, Standing Up For Iowa Families. Become a part of the Iowa Democratic Party.

Protecting Our Principles, Standing Up For Iowa Families. Become a part of the Iowa Democratic Party.

Connect With Us & Share Your Story:

The Iowa Democratic Party and the precinct committee people of Iowa Senate District 25 will hold a convention to nominate the Democratic Party’s candidate to fill the vacancy in the above-mentioned legislative district.

The nominating convention is scheduled to convene:

Saturday, March 17th, 2018
at 10:00am
at the Grundy Center Community Center 705 F Ave
Grundy Center 50635
In the Legion Room

Registration begins at 9:30am

The eligible delegates to the convention are the precinct committee people from Iowa Senate District 25 who were duly elected at the 2018 precinct caucuses or the precinct committee persons who have been duly elected by the County Democratic central committee since the 2018 precinct caucuses or alternates as prescribed by the rules.

In light of the Iowa House Human Services Committee moving forward win an unconstitutional abortion ban, Iowa Democratic Party Chair Troy Price has released this statement:

“The Republicans who voted today to strip Iowans of their right to make their own reproductive decisions, even in cases of rape and incest with no consideration for age, should be ashamed of themselves for unconstitutionally inserting their personal beliefs in to our political process. On the other hand, the passionate defense of women’s rights from the House Democrats made us incredibly proud, and we can’t thank them enough for their hard work.  Democrats will not back down from the fight to ensure that every Iowan – and not a group of Republican Legislators in Des Moines – can make the best, private health care decisions for themselves and their families.”

Tuesday, Republicans said their dangerous bill to ban abortion after 6 weeks was dead. Yesterday, they found a new way to keep it alive.  Republican lawmakers in the House are using a procedural move in the Human Resources Committee to amend the 6 week abortion ban to a different bill (Senate File 359).

We need your help to stop it.

This dangerous bill will ban abortion before most women even know they are pregnant.  It’s the worst attack on the rights of women we’ve seen from Iowa Republicans so far and it’s blatantly unconstitutional. But Republican lawmakers don’t care, they want to take this state backward. They are using this bill to advance an extreme agenda and create a vehicle to legally challenge Roe v. Wade.

Here’s what you can do to help us stop the unconstitutional ban before Thursday at 2 pm:

1. Contact all the Republican lawmakers below on the Human Resources Committee and tell them to vote NO on the 6 week ban:

Rep. Joel Fry, joel.fry@legis.iowa.gov (Chair)
Rep. Michael Bergan, michael.bergan@legis.iowa.gov (Vice-Chair)
Rep. Rob Bacon, rob.bacon@legis.iowa.gov 
Rep. Brian Best, brian.best@legis.iowa.gov
Rep. Cecil Dolecheck, cecil.dolecheck@legis.iowa.gov
Rep. Dave Heaton, david.heaton@legis.iowa.gov
Rep. Steven Holt, steven.holt@legis.iowa.gov
Rep. Jon Jacobsen, jon.jacobsen@legis.iowa.gov
Rep. Kevin Koester, kevin.koester@legis.iowa.gov
Rep. Shannon Lundgren, shannon.lundgren@legis.iowa.gov
Rep. Tom Moore, tom.moore@legis.iowa.gov
Rep. Sandy Salmon, sandy.salmon@legis.iowa.gov
Rep. Rob Taylor, rob.taylor@legis.iowa.gov

*** You can call these Representatives at 515-281-3221 NOW

2. Contact your own State Representative here and ask him/her to vote NO on the 6 week ban.  You can find your representative here.

3. Come to the State Capitol tomorrow at 2 pm and wear pink to show your support for Iowa women. The Human Resources Committee will meet in the Supreme Court Chamber, Room 103.

Following the election of new Senate Republican leadership this morning, Iowa Democratic Party Chair Troy Price has released the following statement:

“We wish Senator Jack Whitver the very best in his new role as the Senate Majority Leader, as well as the rest of his new leadership team. He certainly has many challenges ahead of him as he takes over this fractured, Republican caucus.

It is our hope that Senator Whitver will do more than his predecessor and take meaningful action on the scourge of sexual harassment that continues to plague Senate Republicans. We hope that he will listen to the will of Iowans, instead of the special interests, including new Senate President Schneider’s allies at ALEC, that have been driving extreme, conservative legislation through the Senate. We hope he will stop the attacks on workers, women, schools, and the values we hold dear as a state. We hope that he will work with Democrats to craft real bipartisan solutions.

However, if Senator Whitver chooses to maintain the unacceptable status quo, he should know that we stand ready and able to replace him in the fall.”